Monkey Socks Are Worth Aping Around For!

January 26, 2007 at 3:17 pm 5 comments

I finished my monkey socks last weekend, and they’re finally washed, blocked and dry. I must say, I love ’em! I used Yarn Pirate yarn in Brownsugar, and I love the way the colors knitted up! They’re so interesting, but you can still clearly see the textures of the pattern. See that flower in the picture above? That’s in my yard, right now! Can you believe it? Sure this is south Georgia, but it’s JANUARY! Amazing!

I knitted mine on #2 US circular needles (2 socks on 2 circs). I added one pattern repeat to the leg so they’d be a little longer, and fit a little better, but I must say, these socks even look good when they slouch down on my ankles! I also knit an eye of partridge heel flap, because I just love the look of it.

They were a pretty easy knit, but took me awhile since I’m a slow knitter. All in all, about three weeks.

Next up, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Black Purl, in the Rococo pattern by Wildhorse Farm Designs. I got both the pattern and the yarn from my all-time favorite place, The Loopy Ewe! Sheri is fantastic, and offers out-of-this-world customer service. As always, I’ll have pics for you once the socks are complete. Y’all have a wonderful weekend!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Embossed Leaves Socks… Finished! Another Pair Completed

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mouse  |  January 27, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Gorgeous socks! I hace a hard enough time finishing plain stockinette- those socks look absolutely mind-boggling! I love the colorway as well.. very pretty.

    Reply
  • 2. monica  |  February 1, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Lovely socks!

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  February 14, 2007 at 11:32 am

    My jaw dropped when I saw these socks! Beautiful. Isn’t YP yarn great?!

    Reply
  • 4. Beau  |  February 15, 2007 at 11:41 am

    I’m the first February Poster! Awesome work as usual Claire. I really like the Autum colors and the diversity of the patterns. I hope you’re feeling better real soon, it’s not a fun time I’m sure. Take care, and keep up the awesome work. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Beau  |  February 15, 2007 at 11:42 am

    OOps! Ok, it’s still early in the morning, so I’m still the 3rd and 4th February poster 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

ceveale AT gmail DOT com

Buttons…

sniff4 button_iamkd ravelry-88x31 Untitled-5 AI9 iKnit 100x120

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 2,428 hits

Archives


