Socks of DOOOOM! a.k.a. Doc’s Socks

December 11, 2006 at 11:03 am 1 comment

They’re finished! After ONLY five weeks (yes, I’m a slow knitter. Torn ligaments in the thumbs can cause that…) I am rid of them! They weren’t a bad knit, it’s just Doc Sims has rather large feet. Size 12. I knitted… and knitted… and knitted… and knitted some more! The knitting of them was fine, I just thought it’d never end! They came out quite lovely, and very soft too. I used Cherry Tree Hill in the Java colorway. The pattern is Gentleman’s Shooting Stockings from Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks. I knitted them top-down on size 3 needles, and didn’t do the leg shaping the pattern calls for. I did run into a bit of a problem though. After I finished turning the heel, I realized I wasn’t going to have enough yarn with just the one skein of Cherry Tree Hill I had. So I called to see if I could get more in the same dye lot (aptly, the dye lot number was 911). It was gone. So I ordered one of a different dye lot, having NO idea how it would look. When I got it, my stomach dropped. The new skein was so much lighter than the original! But I didn’t have many choices, so I just started striping it in. I would have preferred to have had all one dye lot, but what you gonna do?? Anyway, I hear he was pleased with them. With no further ado, I present… The Socks of Doom!

Doc's Socks 001 Doc's Socks 004 Doc's Socks 007 Doc's Socks 009

Next up, more brown socks! This pair is for my physical therapist, Barbara. I got some Lorna’s Laces nearly solids in Chocolate, and she picked the Embossed Leaves pattern from IK,Winter ’05. So far I’m LOVING them. Plus, next to Doc, she has TINY feet! Pics soon…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!! Greetings

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  December 12, 2006 at 12:31 pm

    I’ve been meaning to do that pattern for quite some time now, maybe I’ll have to make it a priority b/c yours look great! Even with two dyelots!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

ceveale AT gmail DOT com

Buttons…

sniff4 button_iamkd ravelry-88x31 Untitled-5 AI9 iKnit 100x120

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 2,428 hits

Archives


