The Blog, It Lives!

August 12, 2009 at 6:56 pm 2 comments

Yeah, so it’s only been two years since I blogged anything. If you read my last blog post, you probably realized I’ve been going through some rough times. I still am, but decided I was ready to start blogging again. I never stopped knitting, so there’s plenty of that that has happened! I have relocated from south Georgia to Waynesville, NC. I live in the Great Smoky Mountains, and it is truly beautiful here.

In other news, on August 16th I’m going to be 40! It’s hard to imagine, since mentally and emotionally, I’m only about 15. =)  To celebrate, I’ll probably spend the day playing World of Warcraft or Lord of the Rings Online. I have such an exciting life!

On to things knitterly…  I recently got two sock knitting books – Socks From the Toe Up by Wendy D. Johnson, and Sock Innovation by Cookie A.  I love both books! Wendy’s is a good solid sock book, with loads of instructions on various ways to knit all the parts of a sock, while Cookie’s goes into great detail on designing your own socks. I’m currently knitting the Van Dyke socks from Wendy’s book, which uses a sport-weight yarn. I THINK I’m using Socks That Rock Mediumweight in Monsoon. What with two moves, I can’t find the ball band without some major searching. I got it from the 2007 Rockin’ Sock Club. I’m not far enough yet to really know how they’re going to look.

The last socks I made were a variation on Cookie A’s Monkey Socks. I call ‘em Monkey Toes! Since I first began knitting back in 2005, my younger sister has been bugging me for a pair of socks with a separate big toe, so she can wear them with flip flops. It took me awhile, but I finally made them! I used the Monkey Sock pattern until the toe section, where I followed directions on Camy Tang’s blog, Camy’s Loft. Have a look and tell me what you think…

Monkey Toes

I like them enough I’m thinking about making myself a pair!

Entry filed under: Books, FOs - Knitting, knitting, Life in general. Tags: .

The Post I Never Wanted To Make… It’s been so long…. again!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patrick Unrein  |  August 12, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Happy Almost Birthday, my dear friend! Don’t sweat the big 40…I’m long past it and am looking forward to an even better next 40 years! You are quite the knitting studette, BTW.

    Love to you and your family!

    P.

    Reply
  • 2. Claire  |  August 12, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Thanks Patrick! Hugs to you and yours as well. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me!

ceveale AT gmail DOT com

Buttons…

sniff4 button_iamkd ravelry-88x31 Untitled-5 AI9 iKnit 100x120

Flickr Photos

Argus Shawlette Blocked

Argus Shawlette Closeup

Argus Shawlette 2

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 2,154 hits

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

